US atmospheric sludge duo KYOTY releases video off upcoming new album ‘Isolation’; out February 25th on Deafening Assembly.

New Hampshire post-metal and atmospheric sludge unit KYOTY present an earth-shattering first video taken from their new album ‘Isolation’, to be released on February 25th and available to preorder on Deafening Assembly. Get ready to embrace the engulfing heaviness of the new single « Quarantine » now.

« From earthy doom and sludge to Fudge Tunnel’s industrial noise, KYOTY’s songwriting has been flourishing under self-assigned deadlines. » — Decibel Magazine
« Something incredibly weighty and mind-numbing. » — Destroy//Exist

The East Coast-based duo conjures up crushing, menacing yet highly evocative soundscapes that encompass the sheer contemplative power of post-metal and down-tuned heaviness of sludge, all tinged with a fine industrial-sounding edge. Their sophomore album ‘Isolation’ was written across the divide of 2020 quarantine, with KYOTY recording and sharing songs back and forth electronically. The band wrote, recorded, and mixed the songs during the New Hampshire stay-at-home order, releasing one track every week until the order was lifted. In all, they wrote nine songs for the ‘Isolation’ series and added a tenth bonus track to include in the full-length version of ‘Isolation’.

Watch KYOTY’s « Quarantine » video at this location
Listen to the song on all streaming platforms

The album was mastered by Will Killingsworth at Dead Air Studios and artwork was designed by the band. It will be released on limited white and orange swirl 2xLP vinyl, black 2xLP vinyl and digital via the band’s label Deafening Assembly. 

KYOTY – New album ‘Isolation’
Out February 25th via Deafening Assembly
on 2xLP vinyl and digital – PREORDER

1. Quarantine
2. Ventilate
3. Onus
4. Holter
5. Languish
6. Rift
7. Faith
8. Respite
9. Memory
10. A Fog, A Future Like A Past Imagined

KYOTY is an atmospheric sludge band based out of New Hampshire. The cryptic, often secretive band was formed in 2009 by guitarist Nick Filth (N’Zwaa, Trembling Love, UNISEX, and Psychic Wounds) and bassist Nathaniel Parker Raymond (Conquered, White Narrows). After a few changes in drummers, Rob Brown joined in 2010. In 2012, Tokyo Jupiter Records released ‘Undiscovered Country of Old Death and Strange Years in the Frightful Past’. In 2017, the band re-engineered, remixed, and remastered the album to re-release it as ‘Remanufactured Realm of Ancient Annihilation’. 2015 saw the release of ‘Geomancy I’, a one-sided record, through Deafening Assembly. The band has also released splits with Host and SEA, a handful of singles, and a live recording in 2019. In early 2020, Rob Brown amicably left the band but the band continues recording and performing live with select drummers. KYOTY has played countless live shows and festivals with bands such as Today Is the Day, Rosetta, Pelican, Russian Circles, Inter Arma, Doomriders, and Morne.

Nick Filth – Guitars
Nathaniel Parker Raymond – Bass

KYOTY links