US alternative heavy trio SNAIL reveal new song « Psilocybe » exclusively on Kerrang!

In anticipation of the release of their fourth album « Feral », West Coast alternative metal veterans SNAIL have just revealed a bewitching second excerpt entitled « Psilocybe », now streaming courtesy of Kerrang!. Their new album « Feral » is due out September 25th on Small Stone Records.


« Psilocybe » may be the doomiest, most noise-laden song on SNAIL’s new album « Feral », the trio’s trademark hypnotic vocals as well as their flair for bewitching melodies will take you on a 8-minute travel throughout their darkest alleys – alleys you will never want to leave…

Check out SNAIL’s new song « Psilocybe » now on Kerrang!


SNAIL formed in 1992 in Los Angeles, consisting of singer Mark Johnson (The Crucified, PASTE, Blessing the Hogs), bassist Matt Lynch and drummer Marty Dodson. The eponymous first album (Big Deal Records) garnered much praise in the press, and gained a loyal following from peers, leading to the DIY, 4-track cassette-recorded All Channels are Open EP, after which SNAIL sadly succumbed to the “sex, drugs, and rock and roll” lifestyle and eroded to the point of breaking up.
SNAIL set to work on Feral, their fourth full-length and first for Small Stone. Taking the varied approach of Terminus to new degrees of psychedelia and sonic heft, songs like “Smoke the Deathless” and “Thou Art That” epitomize the weighted melodic appeal of the band, while closer “Come Home” steps forward in its brazen emotionalism. Topped off with mind-bending artwork by Seldon Hunt, Feral is their best work to date, demonstrates the progressive capacity of the once-again trio of Johnson, Lynch and Dodson, and shows that Blood and Terminus may have just been the start of the wildness to come.


« Feral » out September 25th on Small Stone Records
Preorder on limited edition 180gr vinyl, CD and digital at this location



1. Building A Haunted House
2. Smoke The Deathless
3. A Mustard Seed
4. Thou Art That
5. Born In Captivity
6. Derail
7. Psilocybe
8. Come Home
Artwork: Seldon Hunt.

Mark Johnson – Guitars, lead vocals, keys
Matt Lynch – Bass, keys, vocals
Marty Dodson – Drums, percussion, vocals