New York underground power trio GEEZER sign to Heavy Psych Sounds for new album ‘Groovy’; stream trippy first single “Dig” now!

Heavy Psych Sounds Records are pleased to announce the signing of Kingston, NY stoner rock figurehead GEEZER to their roster. The band will release their new album ‘Groovy’ this May 22nd and unveil the mind-bending first single today on The Obelisk.
GEEZER comments on that new collaboration: “Geezer has been honored to work with some of the best record labels in the stoner rock world. That being said, one look at the roster of Heavy Psych Sounds and it’s easy to see why they are  the right label for us right now. Whether it’s the legends of the genre like Brant Bjork, Nebula and Yawning Man, or the new generation of bands like Black Rainbows, Ecstatic Vision and Duel, Heavy Psych Sounds reputation speaks for itself. Geezer is looking forward to earning our place among these titans of the riff. Inhale the groove, keep it heavy. Dig.

Stream new single « Dig » via The Obelisk

About the new single: “Dig is the first single off Geezer’s upcoming album Groovy. It is the song that sets the tone for the rest of the album. The groove that sets the pace & the riff from outer space. A hook that makes you dance and induces a psychedelic trance. A protest song to piss off the man. Can you dig it? Yes you can. »

New album ‘Groovy’ was produced by Pat Harrington, recorded and mixed by Matthew Cullen Darkworld Studio, and mastered by Scott Craggs. It will be out on May 22nd, and available to preorder now in the following formats:
– 20 Test press vinyl
– 250 Yellow/Fuschia vinyl
– 550 Transparent Green vinyl
– Black vinyl
– CD and digital

GEEZER New album ‘Groovy’
Out May 22nd on Heavy Psych Sounds – PREORDER

1. Dig
2. Atlas Electra
3. Dead Soul Scroll
4. Awake
5. Groovy
6. Drowning On Empty
7. Slide Mountain
8. Black Owl

Based in Kingston, NY, GEEZER formed in 2012 and have made a bluesy spirit a staple of their approach, and especially with 2014’s ‘Gage’ and their 2016 self-titled leading into ‘Psychoriffadelia’, they expanded this idea to more open, jammier explorations, a take on heavy psychedelia still informed by the swamp that led to their first European tour in 2017, including Freak Valley Festival in Germany. They have shared stages with High on Fire, Acid King, Nebula, Earthless, Ufomammut and many more. After spending the better part of the last three years touring, writing and solidifying their lineup around guitarist/vocalist Pat Harrington, bassist Richie Touseull, drummer Steve Markota, the Kingston-based trio return with what is unquestionably their most realized work to-date, ‘Groovy’. It is their fourth long-player and solidifies their approach to trippy, heavy blues and classic songwriting.

‘Groovy’ brings a jam-ready mentality together with sharp-edged songcraft. The material is united by that central undercurrent – timeless and undeniable. “We spent the better part of a year jamming, developing ideas and fine tuning arrangements,” Harrington informs. “This is the first time since the self-titled record that we took the time to really flesh out song structures, tempos, etc. I always talk about the ‘three pillars’ of the Geezer sound: heavy, trippy and groovy. With this album, some songs are heavy, some are trippy, but they ALL had to be groovy.” Regardless of tempo, mood, or any other theme that might show up in the songs, ‘Groovy’ is a love-letter to groove itself, and in paying that homage, GEEZER have discovered the truest reality of themselves yet. Whatever else groovy is, it’s them.
Pat Harrington – Guitar & Vocals
Richie Touseull – Bass
Steve Markota – Drums & Percussion

Facebook / Bandcamp
HPS Records website / HPS Records Facebook