CAUSTIC CASANOVA unveil new single ‘Anubis Rex’ taken from new album « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center » on Magnetic Eye Records

CAUSTIC CASANOVA gleefully present their eclectic best sides on the second new single, ‘Anubis Rex’. The track is taken from the Washington D.C.-based riff rockers forthcoming album « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center », to be released on October 7th on Magnetic Eye Records.

The twisted new song opens with a country-style guitar slide and sports the Latin title ‘Anubis Rex’ (« King Anubis »), and refers to the Egyptian god of death rites. On their fifth album, the brain-frying « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center », Washington, DC-based riffonauts CAUSTIC CASANOVA pull an expansive range of sounds into their tight, hyperkinetic core – and explode them outward in a kaleidoscope of progressive heavy rock exuberance. In ferocious opposition to playing music in an established style that might give listeners a way in but can narrow down what’s allowable, the foursome plant their flag dramatically on the side of genre-agnostic exploration. Simply put, the Americans allow each song to go wherever the hell it wants (or needs) to head towards.

Listen to Caustic Casanova new single « Anubis Rex« 

CAUSTIC CASANOVA comment: « This is the first song that we wrote entirely in our new four-piece line-up, featuring the at the time new member Jake Kimberley on guitar as it goes way back to spring 2019. For the first time, we are using extended sections of dual guitar harmonies. It’s also our first song with synthesizer keyboards and our first original track featuring guest instrumentalist Howard Parker on pedal steel guitar. Actually, we kept his first take for the record. Furthermore, it is our first song with obvious country music influences as well as our first time with a clear Thin Lizzy influence. Finally, it is a first that we are doing overtly and without question a love song. This song exemplifies everything that we are doing well – in terms of genre-smashing and riff rock rhythmic excess, while still breaking new creative ground for us regarding melodies and arrangements. Long-time fans will note the sonic resemblance to another album opener, which is also my other favorite song, ‘Thundersnow’ on breaks. Those similarities are intentional. I see both songs as two parts of the same hopeful, uplifting, and heavy prog-pop spectacle. »

Caustic Casanova « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center »
Out October 7th now on Magnetic Eye Records

 Formed in 2005 as the trio consisting of drummer and vocalist Stefanie Zaekner, bass-player and singer Francis Beringer, and guitarist Andrew Yonki, CAUSTIC CASANOVA‘s chose a path to constantly refine their thrillingly unpredictable music, which careens from sardonic noise rock to proggy sludge in the vein of BARONESS, RED FANG, and TORCHE, while also taking inspiration from the gargantuan heft of MELVINS to BORIS, and fleet guitar heroics with flashes of dark-hued post-punk. After a number of proudly DIY releases, CAUSTIC CASANOVA caught the attention of KYLESA, who released the band’s third full-length « Breaks » through their own label. Having brought their pure rock fury to the riff-thirsty masses on more than a dozen full and regional US tours, CAUSTIC CASANOVA applied their road-honed chops to bang out a heavier, more joyously swaggering set of righteous songs for 2019’s triumphant album « God How I Envy the Deaf ».

With the addition of second guitarist Jake Kimberley in 2019, the now-quartet set their sights on making the most adventurous and prog-rock CAUSTIC CASANOVA record yet. « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center » underscores all their strengths, while making the most of the expanded line-up that opened up their sound to new possibilities. Beringer’s reedy, melodic bass dances heavily alongside the two frying guitars to empower a trio of lead voices. Zaenker’s percussion is powerfully inventive across the album’s five expansive songs, sounding equally at home in swinging, Bill Ward stomp as in math-rock jitteriness.

Long-time travelers in CAUSTIC CASANOVA‘s orbit will doubtless find « Glass Enclosed Nerve Center » an exhilarating welcome back that includes the ambitiously sprawling, 22-minute epic ‘Bull Moose against the Sky’ which occupies the album’s entire B-side. Yet those who are new to the massive sound of these raging psychedelic sludge buffaloes will find outstanding songcraft and rich storytelling that is worth every second and countless repeat spins. Three, two, one… go!

Francis Beringer – vocals, bass
Stefanie Zænker – vocals, drums, percussion
Andrew Yonki – guitar
Jake Kimberley – guitar