US instrumental post-metallers KYOTY release gripping « Onus » video; new album ‘Isolation’ out tomorrow on Deafening Assembly.

New Hampshire’s instrumental post-metallers KYOTY team up with Everything Is Noise to present their new « Onus » video, taken from their dark and hulking new album ‘Isolation’ coming out February 25th on Deafening Assembly. Let their massive electronic-tinged sound permeate your ears now.

KYOTY conjures up brooding, menacing and highly evocative soundscapes by melding atmospheric post-metal guitars with bone-crushing bass lines and electronically crafted drums, conferring their music a cold industrial edge that perfectly depicts the pervasive hopelessness induced by the two-year pandemic. Having shared the stage with the likes of Rosetta, Pelican, Russian Circles and Inter Arma, you can easily grasp the kind of force of nature KYOTY is. 

🌒 Watch KYOTY’s brand new « Onus » video at this location 🌘

Their sophomore album ‘Isolation’ was written across the divide of 2020 quarantine, with the duo recording and sharing songs back and forth electronically. The band wrote, recorded, and mixed the songs during the New Hampshire stay-at-home order, releasing one track every week until the order was lifted. In all, they wrote nine songs for the ‘Isolation’ series and added a tenth bonus track to include in the full-length version. Says guitarist Nick Filth: « KYOTY for me has always evoked the sensation of hearing something in nature but unable to locate the source. Similar to thunder, the sound of it is awe and fear. Our new album ‘Isolation’ is an examination of feeling more isolated than ever before, of new and unusual modes of living, of a state of separation simultaneously accentuated and alleviated by synthetic means.« 

The album was mastered by Will Killingsworth at Dead Air Studios with an artwork designed by the band. It will be released on limited white and orange swirl 2xLP vinyl, black 2xLP vinyl, and digital via Deafening Assembly. Watch KYOTY’s latest videos for « Quarantine » and « Ventilate« .

KYOTY New album ‘Isolation’
Out February 25th via Deafening Assembly

KYOTY is an atmospheric sludge band based out of New Hampshire. The cryptic, often secretive band was formed in 2009 by guitarist Nick Filth (N’Zwaa, Trembling Love, UNISEX, and Psychic Wounds) and bassist Nathaniel Parker Raymond (Conquered, White Narrows). After a few changes in drummers, Rob Brown joined in 2010. In 2012, Tokyo Jupiter Records released ‘Undiscovered Country of Old Death and Strange Years in the Frightful Past’. In 2017, the band re-engineered, remixed, and remastered the album to re-release it as ‘Remanufactured Realm of Ancient Annihilation’. 2015 saw the release of ‘Geomancy I’, a one-sided record, through Deafening Assembly. The band has also released splits with Host and SEA, a handful of singles, and a live recording in 2019. In early 2020, Rob Brown amicably left the band but the band continues recording and performing live with select drummers. KYOTY has played countless live shows and festivals with bands such as Today Is the Day, Rosetta, Pelican, Russian Circles, Inter Arma, Doomriders, and Morne.

Nick Filth – Guitars
Nathaniel Parker Raymond – Bass

KYOTY links