Avant-garde project SUPERVØID (w/ Eraldo Bernocchi, Jo Quail…) to release debut album « The Giant Nothing » on Subsound Records.

Noise-laden dark ambient project SUPERVØID (with Eraldo Bernocchi, Xabier Iriondo, Jacopo Pierazzuoli and Jo Quail) will release their mind-boggling debut album ‘The Giant Nothing’ this May 7th on Subsound Records, and unveil a first single entitled « The Acceleration of the Universe » on Bandcamp today.

Supervøid: an empty section of space defined by the lack of superclusters. In this particular case, this empty section of space is missing an estimated 10,000 galaxies. Scientists suspect that it may be draining energy from light travelling through. Getting through such a big chasm takes hundreds of millions of years. The travel has begun.

SUPERVØID is an instrumental three-piece formed by legendary producer and experimental guitarist Eraldo Bernocchi (Sigillum-S, Obake), multifaceted guitarist Xabier Iriondo (Tasaday, A Short Apnea, Buñuel), drummer Jacopo Pierazzuoli (Morkobot, Obake), also involving avant/classic cellist Jo Quail. The cello stands as a « voice-non-voice », laying captivating melodies and harmonic movements into the nothingness of the giant nothing, while the absence of bass player is highly compensated by Bernocchi’s sub frequencies-laden riffing.

Get awestruck by epic debut single « The Acceleration of the Universe« 

Produced by the band and mixed by Eraldo Bernocchi, SUPERVØID‘s debut album ‘The Giant Nothing’ is an emotional rollercoaster ranging from massive-sounding tracks that echo to the heavy music roots of its makers, to more ambient and soundtrack-oriented parts where baritone guitars and cello intertwine with noisy interventions and spacious percussions. Delivering huge impact in terms of emotions and energy, their music combines heavy riffs with cinematic atmospheres, ambient washes with gigantic barytone guitars, classical strings sections looped in real time with walls of noise, all juxtaposed to create an organic contrast. ‘The Giant Nothing’ will be issued worldwide on limited edition 12 » vinyl and digital through Subsound Records. 

SUPERVØID Debut album ‘The Giant Nothing’
Out May 7th on Subsound Records – PREORDER

1. 1.8 Billion Light Year Structure
2. A Cold Spot
3. Eridanus – The Biggest Thing
4. The Acceleration of The Universe
5. The Dark Flow
6. A Rip In The Fabric of Space
7. The Largest Structure Ever Found By Humanity

Eraldo Bernocchi is an Italian composer, arranger, producer and guitarist with a solid reputation as an all round sonic sculptor. Starting his career in the late 70’s as a guitarist in independent punk bands, Eraldo co-founded the conceptual audio project Sigillum-S which grew into a highly acclaimed international cult act. A relentless sound explorer, Eraldo Bernocchi has collaborated with numerous artists including Mick Harris, Bill Laswell, Nils Petter Molvaer, Harold Budd, Russell Mills, Toshinori Kondo, Almamegretta, Thomas Fehlmann, Zu, Giovanni Lindo Ferretti, Robin Guthrie, Colin Edwin and Balazs Pandi among many others. A music score composer, he is also known for playing special events for H.H. The Dalai Lama in Italy. He toured and performed in the USA, Asia and Europe and founded his own label RareNoise Records in 2008.

Multi-instrumentalist and producer Xabier Iriondo is the deus-ex-machina of some of the most adventurous musical projects that have been conceived in the last twenty years in Italy, such as Tasaday, A Short Apnea and Buñuel. He released over fifty albums on major and independent labels, and as a relentless sound manipulator, he has been exploring the possibilities offered by some self-built musical instruments for two decades now. He has performed in Europe, USA, Israel and Japan and collaborated with Damo Suzuki, ZU, Rhys Chatham, Peter Brotzmann, Carla Bozulich, Greg Dulli, OVO, Eraldo Bernocchi, and many others Italian artists.

Milano-based drummer Jacopo Pierazzuoli is now the drummer of Morkobot and Obake (next to Porcupine Tree bassist Colin Edwin, and Eraldo Bernocchi), Deneb Kaitos, Blackwood. He started his career playing rock, metal and electronic music, then moved to post-hardcore, drum’n’bass and even contemporary jazz, inspired by an interest for the genre permeability and the deep search of his own original language. The result is a style that doesn’t fit in any box, halfway between metal and modern electronic Music. He toured extensively, playing alongside the likes of Papa Roach, Ill Niño, Intronaut, Zu, The Ocean, Bridge To Solace, Zeni Geva. 

London based cellist and composer Jo Quail draws upon a myriad of influences, creating music that connects with and unites very diverse audiences. Whilst influenced by Bach, Debussy, Tavener and Bartok, and more contemporary artists such as Trent Reznor and Perry Farrell, her highly evocative and atmospheric songwriting follows its own singular path. Coupling extended cello techniques with looping technology, Jo creates elegiac and energetic soundscapes on stage, with no pre-recorded elements. As a solo artist she has released three albums and a live DVD to critical acclaim. She performs regularly in the UK and across the EU, and completed her 6th tour of Australia in March 2017. She has also performed her music in New Zealand, South Africa and Japan.

Xabier Iriondo — Guitars, Shahi Baaja, Noises
Eraldo Bernocchi — Baritone guitars
Jacopo Pierazzuoli — Drums and Percussions
Jo Quail — Cello