Austin heavy psych instrumentalists TIA CARRERA share new album details and first single ; ‘Tried And True’ out June 12th on Small Stone Records.

Austin, Texas-based heavy psych/blues rock instrumental trio TIA CARRERA will release their long-awaited ‘Tried And True’full-length via Small Stone June 12th. Preorders are available now, with first single « Layback » streaming now on Bandcamp!

Guitarist/engineer Jason Morales and drummer Erik Conn are pushing two decades under the TIA CARRERA banner. Thus, latest endeavor ‘Tried And True’, has more than earned its name. Ahead of 2019’s two-song ‘Visitors/Early Purple’ LP, the founding duo recruited longtime friend and Austin legend Curt Christenson (Dixie Witch, Crimson Devils) as a permanent member, and his well-established bass wizardry has served to embolden the band’s sound, dynamics, and unspoken communion as artists. ‘Tried And True’ represents in blistering fashion their unwavering trajectory of heavy psych/blues bliss exploration.

  Stream first single “Layback” right now

Recorded and mixed at The BBQ Shack in Austin, engineered by the band’s own Jason Morales, mastered by Jerry Tubb at Nova Mastering (also in Austin) and swathed in the eye-catching artwork of Alexander Von Weding, ‘Tried And True’will see release on CD, digital and limited edition vinyl formats. Fans of Earthless, Jimi Hendrix, All Them Witches, Fu Manchu, Black Elephant, and Kyuss pay heed.

New album ‘Tried And True’
Out June 12th on Small Stone Records

1. Layback
2. Taos
3. Swingin’ Wing 
4. Zen And The Art Of The Thunderstorm 
5. Tried And True 
6. Visitors*  
7. Early Purple* 
*CD Only Bonus Tracks

The band is famously selective about what they release to the public. With each performance unique by virtue of improvisation, they’ve amassed a huge, never-issued collection of recorded material, both live performances and private studio tracks. ‘Tried And True’ is a sonic voyage culled from their latest studio work and across a thirty-seven-minute LP (the compact disc runs seventy-one minutes with the only-previously-on-vinyl « Visitors » and « Early Purple » as CD bonus tracks) the three-piece once again scorches their way into the hearts of the lysergic converted. As veterans, TIA CARRERA remain fueled by passion and creative drive, and any time they’ll let us hear what they’ve been up to, we can only consider ourselves lucky. 

Jason Morales – guitar  
Curt Christenson – bass  
Erik Conn – drums