BLACK MOTH unveil Roger Dean artwork for new album « Condemned To Hope »

Here it is: the artwork for BLACK MOTH‘s second full-length « Condemned To Hope » is finally unveiled! This unique and stunning painting was created by renowned British artist Roger Dean. « Condemned To Hope » is due out September 15th via New Heavy Sounds. 


More about the Black Moth artwork on Metal Hammer


Designer, architect and artist, Roger Dean’s iconic work for Yes, Uriah Heep, Budgie, countless Vertigo sleeves and much more, has almost come to define 70’s sleeve art. His work may be associated with rock and progressive rock in particular, but here Roger goes over to the dark side, moving away from the more fantastical vistas that feature in much of his paintings. ForBLACK MOTH‘s « Condemned To Hope », he evokes the apocalyptic landscapes of victorian painter John Martin to create something truly bleak and epic: « The cover painting is very dark and sombre in mood, but for me very interesting because of the intricacies and complexities of the landscape ».
Formed in Leeds in 2010, BLACK MOTH have quickly established themselves as one of the most exciting underground acts in the UK. Fronted by magnetic vocalist Harriet Bevan, this young and talented quintet was defined as « Electric Wizard meeting Band Of Skulls in a dungeon » by Terrorizer. The release in 2012 of their fiery debut record « The Killing Jar » – a grunge-goth odyssey sprinkled with a variety of influences going from Sabbath to the Melvins, The Stooges to L7 – and their mesmerizing on-stage presence, led them to share the stages with the likes of Uncle Acid & the Deadbeats, Red Fang or Turbowolf. They were also invited to play great festivals such as Desertfest London, Download Festival or Reading festival.
BLACK MOTH‘s long-awaited second full-length was produced by Jim Sclavunos (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Cramps, Grinderman) and recorded by legendary Leeds engineer Andy Hawkins. « Condemned To Hope » is an album of fearsome drive and clandestine twists, skilfully sidestepping the cliché and heavy-handedness of delivery that often seems fit to destroy contemporary heavy rock ‘n’ roll from the inside out.


Track listing:
1. Tumbleweave
2. Set Yourself Alight
3. Looner
4. The Undead King Of Rock’n’Roll
5. The Last Maze
6. White Lies
7. Red Ink
8. Room 13
9. Stinkhorn
10. Slumber With The Worm
11. Condemned To Hope


Watch the video for first single « Room 13 » HERE
The deluxe edition vinyl will be packaged in a gatefold American-style tip on sleeve in heavy duty card – heavyweight 180g black and cream vinyl, lyric insert and free download of the album. The vinyl is limited to 500 copies. It will also be available on CD and download.
« Condemned To Hope » is due for release on September 15th.