Desert rock titans YAWNING MAN share details + stunning video off new "Macedonian Lines" album on Heavy Psych Sounds; preorder available now!

Instrumental desert psych pioneers YAWNING MAN announce the release of their mind-blowing new album ‘Macedonian Lines’ this June 14th via Heavy Psych Sounds Records, and share all details as well as a stunning video today via Kerrang Magazine.

Watch ‘Macedonian Lines’ video via Kerrang!

YAWNING MAN continue to establish their exceptionally unique approach to rock music on the bands latest album « Macedonian Lines » (Heavy Psych Sounds Records). The follow up to the critically acclaimed « Revolt Against Tired Noises » shows a further maturing of melody, dynamics and emotion in the bands songwriting. Yawning Man’s roots lay at the foundation of the desert rock and stoner rock sub-genres, however the music the band creates is truly organic and visceral, conjuring a flowing imagery and a emotional response. On this release, the band has a darker and massively heavier sound than past recordings as most of these tracks were developed in live performance and then fully realized in the studio. YAWNING MAN returned to Gatos Trail Studio in the Joshua Tree CA desert to record this album and the space and beauty of the surroundings is ever present in every track. Heavy, beautiful, and delicate. Gary Arce, Mario Lalli and Bill Stinson continue to expand and dig deep with every track.

Mario Lalli (bass) says about the new record: « Macedonian Lines represents the spirit of this band beyond the sound and composition. All the elements of this song were created in live improvisations during Yawning Man’s last European tour. The band refined the ideas night after night in front of live audiences. By tour’s end, the composition is what your hear on the new LP…. truly organic. The title comes from the band’s experiences crossing the Eastern European borders during this turbulent time of refugee migrations and political discord, while the music tends to add beauty to these observations.’Macedonian Lines’ will be available June 14th in the following formats; preorder at this location:
– 30 Test Press vinyl
– 250 LTD Orange vinyl
– 650 Yellow splatter/Purple/Red vinyl
– Black vinyl
– CD and digital

YAWNING MAN New album « Macedonian Lines »
Out June 14th on Heavy Psych Sounds

1. Virtual Funeral
2. Macedonian Lines
3. Melancholy Sadie
4. Bowie’s Last Breath
5. I’m Not A Real Indian (But I Play One On TV)
6. I Make Weird Choices

Formed in the late 1980’s, the lineup of Gary Arce, Mario Lalli, and Bill Stinson rounds out their year-long active recording and touring schedule. Arce and Lalli’s background together date back to the start of the bandwith Stinson’s background steeped in the SST Records world through performing and recording with Gregg Ginn and Chuck Dukowski of Black Flag for several years. The trio is acknowledged and recognized throughout the underground heavy music community as a key piece in the developments of the desert/stoner rock sub-genres. While their contemporaries gravitated toward the heavy riffs of grunge, and post punk, YAWNING MAN leaned in another direction with their unique and organic, cinematic compositions and psychedelic improvisations… the perfect soundtrack to encompass the spacious moonscape atmosphere of the well documented « generator parties » of their area in the late 1980’s.

It was at these gatherings where they developed this distinctive style and sound by enchanting spectators with their seemingly endless free form instrumental sessions, which echoed through the beautiful deserts, mesas, and landscapes of the Coachella Valley. As time passed, their legend grew with notable names of the Palm Desert music scene paying homage to the group through mention and praise, notably with legendary desert band Kyuss (Joshua Homme, Brant Bjork, John Garcia, Scott Reeder) doing their own rendition of the YAWNING MAN track « Catamaran » on the 1995 Elektra release …And The Circus Leaves Town

Gary Arce – Guitar 
Mario Lalli – Bass
Bill Stinson – Drums

FacebookHeavy Psych SoundsHPS on Facebook