Australian garage psych rockers SACRED SHRINES to release new album ‘Enter The Woods’ on April 23rd via Rebel Waves Records; watch new video « Trail To Find »!

Brisbane-based garage psych rockers SACRED SHRINES reveal all details for their upcoming sophomore full-length ‘Enter The Woods’ on Rebel Waves Records, and share their new video for « Trail To Find » exclusively over at It’s Psychedelic Baby Mag!

If you’re not familiar with the force to be reckoned with that SACRED SHRINES is, then the band’s new single and video »Trail To Find » will be the best introduction to its confident and uplifting, swagger-laden and definitely intoxicating brand of psych-drenched garage rock. With frontman Phil Usher standing as a household name of the Australian indie rock scene, and a collective musicianship that defies time and space continuum, the Brisbane quintet is set to propel the Sacred Shrines name to the hall of fame of modern psychedelic rock by releasing their strongest effort to date on Rebel Waves Records.

About new single « Trail To Find », Phil Usher declares: « This song tells the story of the abandonment that happens at the end of a relationship and how weird it can be that two people can share their lives so closely, but then go their separate ways as strangers, as if they never knew each other. » 

Watch new video « Trail To Find » at this location

If their first self-titled album was a sort of statement of arriving, like an alien spacecraft crash-landing on an undiscovered planet, new album ‘Enter The Woods’ is a tale of losing your way and the time spent in the wilderness without a map to guide you. Recorded at various studios around Brisbane, it was mixed by a carefully curated list of engineers from across the globe, including Michael Badger (King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard) and Donovan Miller (FOREVR), as well as James Aparicio (Spiritualized, Grinderman) and local talent Dan James and Matt Weatherall. While the themes cover a gamut of human emotion such as mental illness, loss, betrayal, isolation, failure and self-belief, it stands as another heady collection of cosmic sounds and diverse songwriting that further propels SACRED SHRINES towards the far-out reaches of their own musical landscape.   

New album ‘Enter The Woods’ will be issued on April 23rd, 2021 on various limited vinyl formats, CD and digital through Rebel Waves Records. 

SACRED SHRINES ‘Enter The Woods’
Out April 23rd on Rebel Waves Records
International preorder – US preorder

1. Enter The Woods
2. Trail To Find
3.  Front Row Future
4. Keep All The Sunshine
5. Take The Fall
6. Through The Haze
7. Paint The Sky
8. Stranger
9. Never Far From Where We Are
10. Aching Bones
11. Shadow Man
12. The Hunter
13. Pass Like A Parade

Brisbane Australia’s psych/garage cult SACRED SHRINES played their first show in March 2014, launching their debut 7 inch at the same time. The group emerged from the remnants of internationally acclaimed power-pop/psych powerhouse Grand Atlantic after their final shows in 2013, following years of constant local and overseas touring and three LP releases. Sacred Shrines provided songwriter Phil Usher with a new vehicle to showcase his fresh body of work and to start over with a refocused musical direction and a raw canvas to play with.

During their brief tenure, SACRED SHRINES have shared stages with The Dandy Warhols, The Upside Down, The Demon Parade, Flyying Colours, Tumbleweed, The Murlocs, ORB, Stonefield and many more. The band released their debut album in July 2016, with tracks mixed by Brett Orrison (The Black Angels), Michael Badger (King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Demon Parade) and Liam Judson (Cloud Control, The Laurels). Before the dust had settled on their debut album, Sacred Shrines released a 6 track follow-up EP entitled ‘Trail To Find’ in 2017. On the back of constant touring and radio airplay, Sacred Shrines signed to Californian label Rebel Waves Records at the end of 2017 and since then have been working tirelessly on tracks for their sophomore LP ‘Enter The Woods’. The band are no strangers to the sometimes precarious path of the independent artist, with the constant pressures of moving forward as a group resulting in an evolving lineup since the release of the first LP.  Adding in a global pandemic to the mix, the band took longer than anticipated to finish their 2nd album, but this time of reflection, regrouping and adversity had a significant part in shaping ‘Enter The Woods’.  The album will be issued on April 23rd, 2021 worldwide through Rebel Waves Records.