Finnish power trio MONSTERNAUT stream new album via The Sludgelord; « Monsternaut » out Friday on Heavy Psych Sounds.

Scandinavia’s most desert-sounding rockers MONSTERNAUT teamed up with The Sludgelord to stream their self-titled album, coming out strong as a storm this Friday on Heavy Psych Sounds ! 

Listen to MONSTERNAUT’s fuel-driven LP on The Sludgelord

« Monsternaut » is the Finnish power trio’s debut album, compiling recording sessions from 2012 and 2014. Driven by the fuel, the fire and fuzz of the likes of all-time havoc-mongers Fu Manchu, this is one super pumped up album filled with perfect road trip… and pit anthems! The album is due out October 7th on Heavy Psych Sounds Records.

MONSTERNAUT « Monsternaut » (power fuzz rock / Finland)
Out October 7th on Heavy Psych Sounds – Pre-order


MONSTERNAUT is a straightforward stoner rock band from Kerava in Finland, an unpretentious trio that delivers simple rock’n’roll in the spirit of Fu Manchu and alike. Formed in the winter of 2012 by Tuomas Heiskanen and Perttu Härkönen, the band has shuffled around few drummers before making Jani Kuusela a permanent member in 2014.

Boasting a sound born out of heavy skate fuzz influence with a tonal touch of Queens of the Stone Age bounce and desert-bred groove, the trio thickens up nod-inducing momentum-rich riffs and offers a return to ’90s stoner heavy purity without sounding retro, or like they’re twenty years behind the times — at least not any more than they want to be. The songs on their two offerings to-date offer catchy The Action is Go-style stomp, with a slower lurch that maximizes the groove at play. The album itself is a combination of two older recordings: first session was made back in 2012, while the second one was taped in 2014. About this debut self-titled LP, the band comments: « We’re happy to have HPS release them as one bundle, but are also more or less ready to record more if the stars keep aligned. Suppose we have to wait and see what happens after this release. Fingers crossed!”


Tuomas Heiskanen – Vocals & Guitar
Perttu Härkönen – Bass
Jani Kuusela – Drums


FacebookBandcampHeavy Psych Sounds website