Desert rock legends FATSO JETSON return with new album « Idle Hands » this October on Heavy Psych Sounds.

Palm Desert’s stoner rock initiators FATSO JETSON are returning this fall with their seventh full-length « Idle Hands » on Heavy Psych Sounds, which will be followed by a full European tour.

Following on from 2010’s « Archaic Volumes », « Idle Hands » is FATSO JETSON’s first studio album in six years. The Californian outfit features Mario Lalli alongside fellow guitarist and son Dino Von Lalli, drummer Tony Tornay, and bassist Larry Lalli. The album was recorded and mastered by the band’s live bassist Mathias Schneeberger (Masters Of Reality, Gutter Twins, Earthlings) at Rancho de la Luna.

Discover two songs off « Idle Hands » on The Obelisk

FATSO JETSON’s frontman Mario Lalli recently confessed to The Obelisk:
« This record represents one of the toughest years in my life. To be honest, I barely got it done. It’s a very important record because I’m in a way coming out of a long troubled period, and with lots of love and help from my friends and family I got to a place where I could get back to music and express some of this stuff. The band spent three days at Rancho de la Luna with Mathias Schneeberger recording and co-producing and writing on some pretty rough ideas. Dino, my son, wrote a lot of the heavier, more angular, intense music, and I was coming from a more melodic, dark vibe… seemed to all come together. (…) The title of the album is straightforward and the record, the contrary action, to faith without works is dead. We are stoked to do the record with Gabriele from Heavy Psych Sounds. He’s been so supportive of us for years now, a good friend. That’s how this should be. »

FATSO JETSON – New album « Idle Hands »
Out October 7th on Heavy Psych Sounds // Pre-order on HPS and Bandcamp

Fatso_Jetson_Idle_HandsArtwork by Kelly Keith

1. Wire Wheels and Robots
2. Portuguese Dream Black N Red
3. Royal Family
4. Nervous Eater
5. Seroquel
6. Idle Hands
7. Last Of The Good Times
8. Then and Now
9. The Vincent Letter
10. 48 Hours
11. Dream Homes

A1. Wire Wheels and Robots
A2. Portuguese Dream Black N Red
A3. Royal Family
A4. The Vincent Letter
A5. Then and Now
B1. Last Of The Good Times
B2. Nervous Eater
B3. 48 Hours
B4. Idle Hands

FATSO JETSON formed in California’s Palm Desert in 1994 and are often credited as one of the fathers of the desert strain of stoner rock, made most famous by their slightly younger neighbors Kyuss and Queens of the Stone Age. While musically similar to some of their stoner brethren, they incorporate a broader variety of musical influences that includes punk, blues, jazz and surf music. That is not to say that the band isn’t capable of dishing out supremely heavy riffs… Certainly grounded in dense hard rock, FATSO JETSON experiment with many musical textures, angular instrumental epics, and bizarre lyrics to create a punk, blues art rock of their own.

In 1995, the group recorded their debut « Stinky Little Gods » and followed that up in 1997 with « Power of Three ». Brant Bjork briefly joined up as second guitarist and appeared on two 7″ releases. The band then teamed up with Bongload Records, who released their third full-length « Toasted » in 1998. Guitarist and old friend Gary Arce joined the band to record thier fourth LP « Flames for All » in 2000 for Frank Kozik’s Man’s Ruin Label. FATSO JETSON also contributed to « The Desert Sessions » releases that Josh Homme organized, bringing desert musicians and other like-minded rock creatives together to collaborate. Homme’s record label Rekords Rekords released their next album « Cruel and Delicious », on which the band was joined by Vince Meghrouni on sax and harp, adding a new dimention to their hard to pin sound.

Following on from their 2010 LP « Archaic Volumes », FATSO JETSON ran a handful of successful European tours, including sold out performances at Roadburn Festival, Desertfest London and Berlin or Stoned From the Underground. Mario Lalli’s son Dino joined the band for a split 12″ with fellow desert dwellers Yawning Man, quickly followed by a split record with space lords Farflung on Heavy Psych Sounds. This marked the beginning of a collaboration with the Italian label, who will issue their newest album « Idle Hands » in the fall of 2016.

Mario Lalli – Guitar & Vocals
Dino Von Lalli – Guitar
Larry Lalli – Bass (on tour: Mathias Schneeberger)
Tony Tornay – Drums

Official websiteFacebookTwitterHeavy Psych Sounds Records